SALES ASSOCIATE LICENSE REQUIREMENTS
General license requirements
State license examination
requirements To qualify for a Florida sales associate license, the applicant must
have a Social Security number
receive approval of the license application
pay all required fees
Section 2: Real Estate License Law / Qualifications for Licensure 31
meet all general licensure provisions including age, education, character, competency, submission of associated background history and fingerprints, as discussed in a previous section.
Prelicense course Applicants for a sales associate license must complete 63 classroom hours of an FREC-approved prelicense course, referred to as Course I, to be taken at an accredited college, career center, or registered real estate school. The course includes the fundamentals of real estate principles and practices, real estate law and license law, and associated mathematics. The required hours consist of 60 hours of instruction, either in the classroom or through distance learning, and three hours allowed for the end-of-course examination.
examination After completing the prelicense coursework and passing the end-of-course examination, an applicant has 2 years to take and pass the state licensure examination. If the applicant waits longer than the 2 years, he or she must retake the prelicense course to be eligible to take the licensure examination.
Applicants must schedule the exam directly with the testing vendor and pay the exam fee at that time. Prior to taking the exam, the applicant must present the prelicense course completion certificate and two forms of identification, one of which is to be government-issued and include a photo.
The examination is given on a computer-based system that allows students to answer questions or skip questions and go back to them later. It also provides a summary of how many questions have been answered, how many were skipped, and how much time is remaining on the test. The exam is available in English and in Spanish. Non-electronic foreign language translation dictionaries are allowed in the exam room but must be approved by the test administrator. No other reference materials are allowed in the examination room during the test.
The state examination includes 100 multiple-choice questions and may include pilot questions that are not included in the final test score. The applicant must pass the test with a score of 75% or higher. If the applicant is a Florida nonresident from a Mutual Recognition State, he or she must take the designated Laws and Rules 40-question examination and pass with a score of 30 out of 40 points (75%).
Both the school final exam and the state exam are the same basic format, with 45% of the questions based on Florida Real Estate Law, 45% of the questions on Real Estate Principles and Practices, and 10% of the questions based on real estate math.
Failing the examination. If an applicant fails the examination, he or she will be given a photo-bearing exam report that will provide them with their score on the exam and a breakdown of what they missed. The report will also provide instructions on reviewing what they missed on their examination.
The request to review the exam must be made within 21 days of taking the exam 32 Principles of Real Estate Practice in Florida
and may be performed only for the applicant’s most recent exam. The applicant must pay a fee for the review and is given half of the exam administration time for the review. The applicant may not take notes during the review.
The applicant may challenge any incorrect answers and have the question reviewed by a Florida Administrative Law judge
Whether or not the applicant challenges the results of the failed exam, he or she may pay a fee and retake the exam as many times as necessary within 2 years. There is no waiting period to retake the examination.
License issuance. An applicant who passes the examination will be given a photo-bearing exam report indicating the applicant passed the examination. The applicant’s score will be provided to the DBPR, who will issue a sales associate license number and provide instructions for printing the license.
The license is issued in an inactive status. To activate the license, the sales associate must establish an association with a broker and then either activate his or her own license by printing the DBPR RE 11 Sales Associate or Broker Sales Associate – Become Active form and having the broker sign it or by having the broker add the sales associate to the broker’s online account.
The sales associate must be licensed, associated with a broker or owner/developer, and activated prior to performing any real estate services which require a license.
The RE 11 form can be found online at http://www.myfloridalicense.com/dbpr/re/documents/DBPR_RE_11_Change_of_Status_Associates.pdf